Notice from the National Gardeners of America

 Due to the coronavirus, the Executive Committee felt it was best to  cancel this years' convention.   There will be a meeting set up sometime  in September.     

More information to come as time goes on.

Our purpose

  • To promote the hobby of gardening and horticultural pursuits;
  • To provide a place for the exchange of ideas and information;
  • To encourage discussion with others of similar interests; 
  • To interact with youth to teach appreciation of horticulture and to impart knowledge and skills; 
  • To encourage and promote the preservation and improvement of the environment.


Our History

The Gardeners of America in Arlington was created in 1975 by a group of Arlington residents that grew weary of driving to Fort Worth for meetings with the Fort Worth Men's Garden Club.   An organizational meeting to form The Arlington Men's Garden Club was held on January 27, 1975. Over 70 men turned out for this meeting that was held at the Arlington Community Center, 2800 S. Center Street.

Walter Linn of the Fort Worth Men's Club served as Chairman. Fred Brussow, President of the Fort Worth Club spoke briefly. E.C. "Raz" Curry also outlined the benefits of forming a club in Arlington. A committee composed of Ken Gooch, J.A. Brown and E.C. Curry were named to serve as a nominating committee. Tom Nunn agreed to serve as interim Treasurer to take care of dues and expenses. The first bulletin issued in February 1975 indicated there were 73 members. The first meeting was held on February 24, 1975.

The following were elected as Officers and Directors: 


President - Eugene R. Mitchell

Vice President - Kenneth Gooch

Secretary - Joe C. Beavers

Treasurer - Tom Nunn


1 Year - J.A. Brown, James B. Atkins

2 Year - Clifton Dews, N. R. Soileau

3 Year - George Shupee, Bill Phipps

In 2017, the AMGC bylaws were amended to allow women to become members.  The name of the club was  officially changed to The Gardeners of America in Arlington.


Photo Credit: Toni Nailon,
Club Member

Photo Credit: Toni Nailon,

Club Member

Past Presidents

1975  Gene Mitchell & Ken Gooch

1976  Willie Alexander

1977  Floyd Bemis

1978  W.H. "Pat" Patterson

1979  V. G. Marshall

1980  W. H. "Bill" Phipps

1981  Ray Brown

1982  Ernest Piott

1983  Bruce Orr

1984  Charles Healer

1985  Kenneth Giffen

1986  Truett Boles

1987  Don Lee

1988  Lowell Curtis

1989  Dan Spelts

1990  Clif Rawe

1991  J. R. Newman

1992  Charles Beall

1993  Gordon Pitzer

1994  John Cook

1995  Steve Short

1996 Joe Spradlin

1997 Elbert Seal

1998 Elbert Seal

1999 Guy Mc Williams

2000 Don Ardoyno

2001 V.G. Marshall & Elbert Seal

2002 Leon Conley

2003 Leon Conley

2004 Leon Conley

2005 Elbert Seal

2006 Duane Holman

2007 Duane Holman

2008 Richard Robledo

2009 Duane Holman

2010 Lance Jepson

2011 Lance Jepson

2012 Billy Clark

2013 Billy Clark

2014 Billy Clark

2015 Tim LeBlanc

2016 Tim LeBlanc

2017  Billy Clark

2018 Otto Witt

2019 Otto Witt

Photo Credit: Elbert Seal, Club Member

Photo Credit: Elbert Seal, Club Member